Audrina1759's Blog

Home » Poetry » Poetry: Once Upon a Time

Poetry: Once Upon a Time

About me:

Audrina is Editor Audrina 1759. A Writer, Music lover ,Self proclaimed Movie Critic and Fashion and Style Expert . Follow @AUDRINA1759

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Highest Viewed Posts & Pages Today.

ROV Wears

For your Menswear and Lumber jacks. Call 08060312643 08039162004 bb pin 2A58D345.


This is a poem by legendary Nigerian Poet, Gabriel Okara. He is one of Africa’s most renowned and established voices of the 20th century.Like i said in my profile,i love to share everything i find fascinating here on my blog,so i want to share a poem i read with you guys. Some of you may not be able to understand and thus not relate to it, and some of you can relate . All in all i just want you guys to enjoy it. The poem expresses concern for the influence of the Western world on the  African custom,however that wasn’t what i got from reading the poem .

Once Upon a Time

Once upon a time, son,
they used to laugh with their hearts
and laugh with their eyes:
but now they only laugh with their teeth,
while their ice-block-cold eyes
search behind my shadow.

There was a time indeed
they used to shake hands with their hearts:
but that’s gone, son.
Now they shake hands without hearts
while their left hands search
my empty pockets.
‘Feel at home!’ ‘Come again’:
they say, and when I come
again and feel
at home, once, twice,
there will be no thrice-
for then I find doors shut on me.
So I have learned many things, son.
I have learned to wear many faces
like dresses – homeface,
officeface, streetface, hostface,
cocktailface, with all their conforming smiles
like a fixed portrait smile.
And I have learned too
to laugh with only my teeth
and shake hands without my heart.
I have also learned to say,’Goodbye’,
when I mean ‘Good-riddance’:
to say ‘Glad to meet you’,
without being glad; and to say ‘It’s been
nice talking to you’, after being bored.
But believe me, son.
I want to be what I used to be
when I was like you. I want
to unlearn all these muting things.
Most of all, I want to relearn
how to laugh, for my laugh in the mirror
shows only my teeth like a snake’s bare fangs!
So show me, son,
how to laugh; show me how
I used to laugh and smile
once upon a time when I was like you.
Gabriel Okara
2 Comments

  1. Boomie Bol says:

    Thanks or sharing this

  2. Beautiful, powerful and poignant poem and so true to life. Of hyposcrisy behind teh smile and handshake. Thank you. Following your blog, Audrina

What's your opinion,leave a comment

